Home News FEC: FG approves establishment of 20 private universities

FEC: FG approves establishment of 20 private universities


The Federal Government during the weekly  Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved the establishment of 20 private universities across the country.

Education Minister Adamu Adamu announced this while addressing State House Correspondents after the meeting presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari at the State House in Abuja.

Adamu said the approved universities would get their provisional licences from the National Universities Commission (NUC) to enable operate for the next three years during which they would be monitored and their performance evaluated.

The approved universities are: Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom State; Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State; Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo State; Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State; and Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano State.

Also approved are: Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State; Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State; Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo State; NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna State; and Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State.

Read Also; Full list of approved 20 private universities
Others are: James Hope University, Lagos, Lagos State; Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano, Kano State; Capital City University, Kano, Kano State; Ahman Pategi University, Pategi, Kwara State; and University of Offa, Offa, Kwara State.

Others are: Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State; Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State; Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja; Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State and Anan University, Kwall, Plateau State.

Nine of the private universities are located in the Northcentral, three in the Southsouth, two in the Southeast, five in the Northwest and one in the Southwest.