Home News Lagos, Ondo Commissioners, 29 others get SAN title

Lagos, Ondo Commissioners, 29 others get SAN title


The Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee has named the Commissioners of Justice and Attorney-Generals of Lagos and Ondo states, Mosediq Kazeem and Adekola Olawoye, as Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN).

The committee also announced the Vice Chancellor of Lagos State University (LASU), Olarenwaju Fagbohun, a professor and that of the University of Ilorin, Mohammed Akanbi, as well as 27 others as those who were conferred with the title.

Secretary of the committee and Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Hadizatu Mustapha, disclosed this to journalists on Thursday in Abuja.

She added that the new SANs include Oluyemisi Bamgbose – the only female on the list, Isah Chiroma, Wahab Egbewole, and Oforinze Amucheazi.

Others are Oba Maduabuchi, Essien Udom, Metong Urombo, George Igbokwe, Olubowale Taiwo, Oluwole Iyamu, Stephen Adehi, and Olusegun Akinbiyi.

Also on the list are Emmanuel Achukwu, Kenneth Ahia, Louis Alozie, Adeyinla Olumide-Fusika, Johnson Ojo, Wole Agunbiade, Olayode Delano, and Tanimu Inuwa.

The rest are Sonny Wogu, Adewale Atake, Ikhide Ehighelua, Edmund Obiagwu, Cosmas Enweluzo, Ishiaka Mudi, and Olabode Olanipekun – the son of the legal luminary, Wole Olanipekun (SAN).

The LPPC secretary revealed that a total of 106 lawyers with 83 under advocacy and 23 under academic applied for the new rank.

She said at the end of the 135th plenary session of the committee, only 31 applicants were found worthy to be conferred with the privileged rank.