Home News Nigeria appointed head of 19-member anti-corruption group

Nigeria appointed head of 19-member anti-corruption group


Nigeria has been appointed the new Chairman of Heads of Anti-Corruption Agencies in Commonwealth Africa, comprising 19 countries.

Nigeria is represented by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The appointment was announced at the 8th Regional Conference of the body which ended in Abuja on Friday.

The spokesperson for EFCC, Wilson Uwujaren, in a statement noted that the group said in a communique that the members resolved to deepen collaboration on asset tracking and recovery.

It expressed concern about the heavy losses that Africa was suffering as a result of illegal transfers of proceeds of corruption and crime.

To effectively tackle the challenge, the body stressed the need for synergy among member countries.

The group underscored the importance of whistleblowing in the fight against corruption, asset recovery and return and urged African countries to enact strong whistleblowing legislations and provide protection for whistleblowers.

Anti-corruption agencies from member countries, however, appealed to judicial and prosecuting authorities to support and fast-track prosecution of corruption cases.

It appreciated the invaluable support and warm hospitality provided by the Federal Government, EFCC, Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission and the people of Nigeria.

Meanwhile, Uganda has been nominated to host the 2019 conference in partnership with the Commonwealth Secretariat.