Home News Religious freedom: US blacklists Nigeria, others

Religious freedom: US blacklists Nigeria, others


Nigeria has been added to the national that are guilty of severe violation of religious freedom or suppression of religious freedom by US government.

Other nations on the list are: US ally, Saudi Arabia, China, Burma,  Eritrea, Iran, the DPRK, Pakistan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan

Mike Pompeo, United States Secretary of State made the intimation on his Twitter handle.

He said, “Upholding the right to religious freedom is a moral and national security imperative. Where religious freedom is absent, terrorism, and violence fester. Our advocacy for religious communities abroad helps to ensure the protection and prosperity of Americans at home.

“Today the US designates Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, Nigeria, the DPRK, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan as countries of concern under the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998 for engaging systematic, ongoing, egregious religious freedom violations.

“The US is unwavering in its commitment to religious freedom. No country or entity should be allowed to persecute people with impunity because of their beliefs. These annual designations show that when religious freedom is attacked, we will act.”